SNAP Food Benefits: Do You Qualify, and Where to Apply

SNAP is federal, but every state runs it with a different name, a different portal and sometimes a different income limit. We read all 51 of them. Below: a 30-second check, then your state's real application link and phone number.

51 states checked, 47 on the state's own .govLast review: Sep 10, 2026
states and DC, each read on its own site
51
call it something other than SNAP
15
have no online application
1
state pages published so far
51

Do I qualify for SNAP?

A 30-second estimate against the federal limits. It runs entirely on your phone — what you type never leaves it and we never see it.

Federal limits for a household of 1: gross $1,696/month, net $1,305/month, from the USDA table for 1 October 2025 to 30 September 2026. This is an estimate, not a decision — only your state decides, and many people who assume they earn too much do qualify.

Find your state

Where the program has its own name, that is what shows — it is the word to search, and the reason "food stamps" sometimes finds nothing. Otherwise, the first income limit the state publishes.

The name changes, and that is why people give up

15 of the 51 states we checked do not call it SNAP or food stamps at all. Someone searching the words they know can land on a federal page that never tells them where their own state's form is. Each page here leads with the local name.

How we check this

  1. State by state, we read the state's own .gov site — not the federal one, and not a third-party form site.
  2. We record the exact application URL and test that it loads. A dead portal link makes the page worthless.
  3. Income limits are copied only from the table that state prints. Never from the federal table, never from a neighbouring state. More than half of states set a higher limit than the federal one, and Alaska and Hawaii have their own entirely.
  4. What a state does not publish is written as "Not stated", with the phone number to ask. Guessing here stops someone applying who would have qualified.
  5. Federal rules changed in 2025 — work requirements and cost sharing. Figures move, so every page carries its check date and we re-read monthly.
  6. The pages themselves are assembled automatically from what we recorded for each one; the reading and checking is done by people against the official source, and every page shows its check date.

Frequently asked questions

I work. Can I still get SNAP?

Yes, and most people who get SNAP live in a working household. The income the state compares is not your paycheque: rent, utilities, childcare and medical costs for older or disabled members are deducted first, plus 20% of earned income. That is why people who look over the limit on paper often qualify in practice. Applying is free and being turned down costs you nothing.

Why does the program have a different name in my state?

SNAP is federal but each state runs it under its own brand, which is why searching "food stamps" can land you on the wrong page. California calls it CalFresh, Vermont 3SquaresVT, Michigan and Ohio the Food Assistance Program. Each state page here uses the name that state uses.

How long does it take?

Federal law gives states 30 days, and 7 days if you qualify as an emergency — that word is "expedited", and it is worth using it when you apply if you have almost no income or money left. Because 30 days is a long time when the cupboard is empty, each state page also links the food banks that serve that state; they do not make you wait and most do not ask for proof of income.

Are the income limits the same everywhere?

No, and this is the mistake most sites make. The federal table covers 48 states, but Alaska and Hawaii have their own, higher ones, and more than half of states raise the limit above the federal 130% — some to 200%. Maine, New Hampshire and Montana use 200%; Vermont 185%; South Dakota and Wyoming stay at the federal 130%. Every limit on this site is the one that state publishes itself.

How do you know this is right?

State by state, we read the state's own .gov site and record how you apply, the exact portal URL, the income table as that state prints it, what to bring, how long it takes and the EBT phone number. What a state does not publish is written as "Not stated" — we never fill it in from another state. Federal rules changed in 2025, so figures move: last review 2026-09-10, re-checked monthly.