West Texas Food Bank: How to Get Food
West Texas Food Bank does not publish who qualifies, so the pantry decides — here is what it does say, and who to ask. It is a regional food bank, so it supplies pantries rather than handing out groceries itself: below is how to find the one near you.
- Proof of income
- Pantry decides
- Cost
- Not stated
- Hands out food
- Through pantries
- use its locator to find one
- Hours
- Published
- see “When is it open”
Do I have to prove my income to get food from West Texas Food Bank?
West Texas Food Bank does not publish a requirement either way. Each partner pantry sets its own, so ask the pantry before you go, or call 432-580-6333. Do not assume you are turned away: most pantries in the Feeding America network serve anyone who says they need help.
How do I actually get food from West Texas Food Bank?
Regional food bank supplying partner agencies. Important change published on its own page: 'Beginning January 1st, 2026, the West Texas Food Bank will be ending in-house pantry distributions. We encourage our community to visit our outreach locations and partner agencies for regular food assistance opportunities.' So do not go to the food bank itself for a pantry. Instead: (1) open the Agency List linked from wtxfoodbank.org/help/ (CLICK HERE FOR THE AGENCY LIST) to find one of the 100+ partner agencies; or (2) use the Mobile Distribution Program, which serves areas without a partner agency - the page links a separate monthly OUTREACH SCHEDULE for each month. Outside their hours, the page says to dial 211. Food bank staff also help people apply for SNAP and other state food assistance programmes. Separate programmes with their own agency lists: the CSFP Senior Box (a box each month for income-eligible seniors 60+) and Kid's Cafe, where children can go to an agency and receive a lunch. For details of either, the page says to call the Food Bank.
When is West Texas Food Bank open?
Not published as a single schedule. Mobile outreach dates are in the monthly OUTREACH SCHEDULE documents linked from wtxfoodbank.org/help/; partner agency hours come with the Agency List. Call the agency to confirm before travelling.
Does West Texas Food Bank cost anything?
Not stated on the official page. Food from Feeding America network pantries is normally free; if anyone asks you to pay, ask why.
What do I need to bring?
Not stated on the West Texas Food Bank page we read. Bring an ID and something with your address if you have them, and bags or a box for the food — but do not stay home for lack of paperwork; most pantries take you anyway.
Where West Texas Food Bank works
19 counties of West Texas, served through 100+ partner agencies. The food bank's own pages name only Brewster and Pecos, 'the two largest counties in the state'. Two locations: 411 South Pagewood Avenue, Odessa, TX 79761 and 1601 Westcliff Drive, Midland, TX 79703.
Worth knowing before you go
The big limit is the January 1st, 2026 end of in-house pantry distributions at the food bank itself. Visit limits at partner agencies are not stated. 211 is given for help outside the food bank's hours.
For more than this week
A pantry covers today. SNAP covers the month, and in Texas the application is the state's own. SNAP in Texas →
Other food banks in TX
Each one covers different counties, so if West Texas Food Bank does not reach where you live, one of these probably does.
- San Antonio Food BankSan Antonio, TX
- Central Texas Food BankAustin, TX
- North Texas Food BankPlano, TX
- South Plains Food Bank, Inc.Lubbock, TX
- El Pasoans Fighting Hunger Food BankEl Paso, TX
- Tarrant Area Food BankFort Worth, TX
Read on wtxfoodbank.org on Sep 9, 2026. We do not copy opening hours from other sites, because a wrong hour sends someone on a wasted trip. Last review Sep 9, 2026.
Checked by the PocketBoosters team against the official source. How we check this →
English