Help With Your Electric Bill in Oregon: LIHEAP
Oregon does not publish when you can apply for LIHEAP, which is the one thing you need to know. Here is what it does say, and the number to call to find out.
- Applications
- Not stated
- Pays
- Not stated
- Shut-off help
- Yes, crisis track
- How to apply
- Online · Paper · Phone
When can I apply for help with my energy bill in Oregon?
Oregon does not publish its application dates. Call 800-453-5511 and ask when the current season opens — and ask about crisis help in the same call if your power is at risk.
My power is about to be cut off in Oregon. What do I do today?
OEAP is Oregon's disconnection-prevention program: an electric bill payment program for Pacific Power and Portland General Electric customers, aimed specifically at reducing service disconnections for people who cannot pay. Apply through your local CAA. OHCS energy assistance line: 1-800-453-5511, option 1; [email protected]. For other utilities, ask your CAA about LIHEAP crisis help.
How do I apply for LIHEAP in Oregon?
Contact your local Community Action Agency - find it through the 'Find Your Community Action Agency / Find Your County' table at https://www.oregon.gov/ohcs/energy-weatherization/Pages/utility-bill-payment-assistance.aspx. Homebound or physically infirm applicants can ask for alternative methods: phone, mail or a home visit. OHCS itself does not determine eligibility or award grants.
Who qualifies in Oregon?
Household gross income at or below 60% of Oregon's state median income by household size (table published on the OHCS page for FFY2026; gross means before any deductions). Renters and owners both qualify, but rental and utility agreements and landlord cooperation can change the benefit. The household must have documented energy costs.
How much does LIHEAP pay?
Oregon does not publish the benefit amounts on the page we read. It is paid to the utility, not to you, and depends on household size, income and fuel type.
What do I need to bring?
Not itemized on the Oregon page we read. Expect ID, a recent energy bill, proof of income for everyone in the household and, if you have one, the shut-off notice.
Can they legally cut off my power in Oregon right now?
No calendar-month winter moratorium. Oregon PUC rule OAR 860-021-0407 forces a severe-weather moratorium: an energy utility may not disconnect residential service for nonpayment on any day the forecast high is below 32F, and an electric utility may not disconnect on any day a local Heat Advisory is issued. A moratorium once triggered lasts at least through the start of the next business day, and applies only to the geographic area that meets the condition. Separate protection exists through an Emergency Medical Certificate (OAR 860-021-0408).
This comes from the Oregon utility commission, not from the energy assistance programme — they are different offices and only one of them publishes it.
Worth knowing in Oregon
Two programs sit side by side: LIHEAP is federal and statewide; OEAP is state-funded and only for Pacific Power and PGE customers. Both use the same 60% SMI limit and the same CAA intake.
One application, two bills
In most states the same office runs SNAP food benefits, and receiving one often makes the other automatic or faster. SNAP in Oregon →
Read on oregon.gov/ohcs on Sep 10, 2026. Income limits are the ones Oregon publishes itself: states choose between 150% of the federal poverty level and 60% of state median income, so copying from a neighbouring state gives the wrong answer. Last review Sep 10, 2026.
Checked by the PocketBoosters team against the official source. How we check this →
English