Maryland Food Bank: How to Get Food

Maryland Food Bank does not publish who qualifies, so the pantry decides — here is what it does say, and who to ask. It is a regional food bank, so it supplies pantries rather than handing out groceries itself: below is how to find the one near you.

✓ Checked Sep 9, 2026 Baltimore, MDOfficial page ↗
Proof of income
Pantry decides
Cost
Free
Hands out food
Through pantries
use its locator to find one
Hours
Published
see “When is it open”

Do I have to prove my income to get food from Maryland Food Bank?

Maryland Food Bank does not publish a requirement either way. Each partner pantry sets its own, so ask the pantry before you go, or call 410-737-8282. Do not assume you are turned away: most pantries in the Feeding America network serve anyone who says they need help.

How do I actually get food from Maryland Food Bank?

Maryland Food Bank is a regional food bank and does not hand out food from its warehouses; it supplies a partner network of pantries and soup kitchens. Steps: (1) go to mdfoodbank.org/find-food/, enter your location and choose a radius (5, 10, 25, 50 or 100 miles), and read the list or map - each entry shows the address, phone, website and hours; (2) call or email that pantry to confirm hours before going. There is also a 'See more resources by Maryland county' link, and a contact form with a 'Need Food' subject option. If you are in Prince George's or Montgomery County, use the Capital Area Food Bank instead.

When is Maryland Food Bank open?

No single schedule. Each of the 286 partner locations publishes its own days and hours in the food bank's Find Food listing; the food bank asks you to call or email the site to confirm.

Does Maryland Food Bank cost anything?

Free. Nothing on the page asks for payment or a donation from people receiving food.

What do I need to bring?

Not stated on the Maryland Food Bank page we read. Bring an ID and something with your address if you have them, and bags or a box for the food — but do not stay home for lack of paperwork; most pantries take you anyway.

Where Maryland Food Bank works

Maryland, except Prince George's and Montgomery Counties - for those two its site sends you to the Capital Area Food Bank. Three sites: Baltimore (2200 Halethorpe Farms Road), Eastern Shore branch in Salisbury (28500 Owens Branch Road) and a Western Maryland branch in Hagerstown. Its Find Food tool lists 286 partner locations.

Worth knowing before you go

Visit limits are not stated by the food bank; they are set by each pantry - the listing shows some are open weekly and some only one day a month, and some are appointment-only. Offices are open 8:00-16:30 Mon-Fri in Baltimore and 7:30-16:00 Mon-Fri in Salisbury.

For more than this week

A pantry covers today. SNAP covers the month, and in Maryland the application is the state's own. SNAP in Maryland

Read on mdfoodbank.org on Sep 9, 2026. We do not copy opening hours from other sites, because a wrong hour sends someone on a wasted trip. Last review Sep 9, 2026.

Checked by the PocketBoosters team against the official source. How we check this →