Greater Lansing Food Bank: How to Get Food

Here is exactly who Greater Lansing Food Bank says can get food, in its own words. It is a regional food bank, so it supplies pantries rather than handing out groceries itself: below is how to find the one near you.

✓ Checked Sep 9, 2026 Bath, MIOfficial page ↗
Proof of income
See who qualifies
Cost
See below
Hands out food
Through pantries
use its locator to find one
Hours
Published
see “When is it open”

Do I have to prove my income to get food from Greater Lansing Food Bank?

For the food bank's own mobile distributions the Mobile Food Pantries page is explicit, in its own words: 'Anyone in need of food can attend a GLFB mobile distribution. You do not need to provide identification or proof of residency to receive food. If you are unable to attend a distribution, someone else may pick up food on your behalf.' Income is not mentioned and no proof of income is asked. For the more than 300 partner pantries and community kitchens, requirements are not stated on the food bank's pages, so contact the agency directly.

How do I actually get food from Greater Lansing Food Bank?

Regional food bank working with more than 300 partner agencies plus its own weekly mobile distributions. Use the Pantry & Distribution Locator at greaterlansingfoodbank.org/get-help/pantries, or the Mobile Food Pantries calendar at greaterlansingfoodbank.org/get-help/pantries/mobiles, which lists each upcoming distribution with date, time, county, venue and address, links to Google or Apple Maps, a county filter and print-friendly monthly PDFs. Mobile distributions are drive-through: stay in your vehicle and food is placed in your trunk or back seat. Other programs: Home Delivery (free, within a 10-mile radius of designated delivery hubs, for home-bound neighbors and those without reliable transport), Weekend Kits for children, Care Kits for unhoused neighbors, the Commodity Supplemental Food Program for seniors, and the Garden Project (land, free seeds and plants, tool lending, nearly 100 community gardens). For 24/7 help finding the nearest emergency food resource, dial 2-1-1.

When is Greater Lansing Food Bank open?

Mobile distribution dates and start times are published on the Mobile Food Pantries calendar and in monthly PDFs. Pantry hours are shown in the locator, and the page warns 'locations, times, and methods of distribution are subject to change. For the most accurate information, please contact the agency directly.' Distributions may end sooner than the published time if the food runs out, and you are asked not to line up more than 30 minutes before the start.

Does Greater Lansing Food Bank cost anything?

Free. Home Delivery is described as free of charge and no fee, donation or payment is mentioned anywhere for the food.

What do I need to bring?

Nothing for a GLFB mobile distribution - no identification and no proof of residency. Partner pantries may differ, so ask when you contact them.

Where Greater Lansing Food Bank works

A 4,000 square mile, seven-county service area in mid-Michigan: Clare, Clinton, Eaton, Gratiot, Ingham, Isabella and Shiawassee Counties. Address: 5600 Food Court, Bath, MI 48808.

Worth knowing before you go

At mobiles, restrooms are not available and drivers and passengers must stay in vehicles. If you feel sick, stay home and send someone in your place. Visit limits are not stated. For SNAP (EBT, MI Bridge Card) updates call (888) 544-8773, 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday to Friday. Note the URLs: /get-help/pantries-mobile-food-distributions/ is a 404; the working pages are /get-help/pantries and /get-help/pantries/mobiles.

For more than this week

A pantry covers today. SNAP covers the month, and in Michigan the application is the state's own. SNAP in Michigan

Other food banks in MI

Each one covers different counties, so if Greater Lansing Food Bank does not reach where you live, one of these probably does.

All food banks

Read on greaterlansingfoodbank.org on Sep 9, 2026. We do not copy opening hours from other sites, because a wrong hour sends someone on a wasted trip. Last review Sep 9, 2026.

Checked by the PocketBoosters team against the official source. How we check this →