Help With Your Electric Bill in Kansas: LIEAP

LIEAP in Kansas is not open all year. Here are the dates, what it pays, and who to call today if your power is about to be cut off.

✓ Checked Sep 10, 2026Kansas Department for Children and Families (DCF), Economic and Employment ServicesOfficial page ↗
Applications
Jan – Mar
Pays
Not stated
Shut-off help
Not stated
How to apply
Online · Paper

The season

  1. Opens Janapply on day one — it is first come, first served
  2. Money runs outmost states stop before the closing date
  3. Closes Marthe published end of the season

When can I apply for help with my energy bill in Kansas?

A short winter window, roughly late January to March 31. The 2026 period ran Jan 20 to 5 p.m. on March 31, 2026 and is now CLOSED; DCF says dates for the next period will be posted when available - nothing published for winter 2026-2027 as of 10 Sep 2026. Money does not run out first: Kansas spreads the funds so every eligible applicant in the season gets a benefit, and says it has never exhausted them.

Dates move every year and most states stop taking applications when the money runs out, not on the closing date. Checked Sep 10, 2026 — confirm before you count on it.

My power is about to be cut off in Kansas. What do I do today?

Kansas does not describe a separate crisis programme on the page we read. Call 888-369-4777 and say the words "shut-off notice" — most states move those applications to the front. You can also dial 2-1-1 free from any phone.

How do I apply for LIEAP in Kansas?

Online at the DCF Self-Service Portal (https://cssp.kees.ks.gov/apspssp/sspNonMed.portal) during the application period, or ask a local DCF Service Center for a paper application. DCF also runs in-person application events statewide. All adults living at the address must sign. Program page: https://www.dcf.ks.gov/services/ees/Pages/EnergyAssistance.aspx

Who qualifies in Kansas?

Gross monthly income limit for LIEAP in Kansas, by household size
Household sizeGross monthly income limit
1$1,956
2$2,644
3$3,331
4$4,019
5$4,706
6$5,394
7$6,081
8$6,769

Combined gross income of everyone at the address at or below 150% of the federal poverty level. Maximum gross MONTHLY income published for the 2026 season: 1 person $1,956; 2 $2,644; 3 $3,331; 4 $4,019; 5 $4,706; 6 $5,394; 7 $6,081; 8 $6,769; +$688 per extra person. An adult in the household must be named on the primary heating bill (or show a lease if heat is in the rent or the bill is in the landlord's name).

How much does LIEAP pay?

One payment per year, paid to the utility; the amount depends on household income, size, fuel type and other factors and is not published as a fixed figure. If funds allow, a supplemental payment may be added at the end of the season to households that already got a benefit.

What do I need to bring?

Proof of earned and unearned income for everyone in the home, copies of all fuel bills (gas, electric, propane), proof of child support received or the court order, and the rental agreement if you are in subsidized housing, heat is included in rent, or the bills are in the landlord's name.

Can they legally cut off my power in Kansas right now?

Cold Weather Rule, Kansas Corporation Commission, November 1 through March 31, for residential electric and natural gas customers of KCC-regulated utilities. A utility cannot disconnect when the forecast is below 35F within the next 48 hours. To avoid disconnection at 35F or above, or to be reconnected at any temperature, you must make a payment arrangement: pay 1/12 of the past-due amount plus 1/12 of the current bill plus any disconnection, reconnection and deposit charges, then the rest in equal payments over 11 months. Utilities must give 10 days' written notice plus a call or personal contact the day before. KCC 1-800-662-0027, https://www.kcc.ks.gov/consumer-information/cold-weather-rule

This comes from the Kansas utility commission, not from the energy assistance programme — they are different offices and only one of them publishes it.

Worth knowing in Kansas

Most households must reapply every year. Exception: if everyone in the home is 62 or older and Social Security or KPERS is the only income, eligibility can run three years. The Cold Weather Rule only covers utilities the KCC regulates - not municipal utilities or co-ops.

One application, two bills

In most states the same office runs SNAP food benefits, and receiving one often makes the other automatic or faster. SNAP in Kansas

Read on dcf.ks.gov on Sep 10, 2026. Income limits are the ones Kansas publishes itself: states choose between 150% of the federal poverty level and 60% of state median income, so copying from a neighbouring state gives the wrong answer. Last review Sep 10, 2026.

Checked by the PocketBoosters team against the official source. How we check this →