Help With Your Electric Bill in Florida: LIHEAP
Florida does not publish when you can apply for LIHEAP, which is the one thing you need to know. Here is what it does say, and the number to call to find out.
- Applications
- Not stated
- Pays
- Not stated
- Shut-off help
- Yes, crisis track
- How to apply
- Online · Phone
When can I apply for help with my energy bill in Florida?
Florida does not publish its application dates. Call 2-1-1 and ask when the current season opens — and ask about crisis help in the same call if your power is at risk.
My power is about to be cut off in Florida. What do I do today?
Handled by the same local agency provider - a Final Utility Termination Notice is on the required document list, which is how a crisis case is opened. There is no separate state crisis hotline. For an urgent case the state says: call 9-1-1 if it is life-threatening, and call 2-1-1 to be routed to agencies that may help. Households with someone aged 60+ should also ask about EHEAP through the Department of Elder Affairs Elder Helpline 1-800-963-5337.
How do I apply for LIHEAP in Florida?
Not a single state portal. Call your local LIHEAP provider - the list is at https://floridajobs.org/community-development/Low-Income-Home-Energy-Assistance-Program/find-your-local-low-income-home-energy-assistance-program-provider-for-help - and several counties have their own online application. The state warns that agency phone lines run at very high call volume and many take calls only in set hours.
Who qualifies in Florida?
| Household size | Annual income limit |
|---|---|
| 1 | $32,155 |
| 2 | $42,049 |
| 3 | $51,943 |
| 4 | $61,837 |
| 5 | $71,730 |
| 6 | $81,624 |
| 7 | $83,479 |
| 8 | $85,335 |
Total household income no more than 60% of the Florida State Median Income, or 150% of the Federal Poverty Level. Maximum annual income published by the state: 1 person $32,155; 2 $42,049; 3 $51,943; 4 $61,837; 5 $71,730; 6 $81,624; 7 $83,479; 8 $85,335. You must also be responsible for the heating or cooling bill, be a Florida resident, and be a US citizen, qualified alien or permanent resident.
How much does LIHEAP pay?
Florida does not publish the benefit amounts on the page we read. It is paid to the utility, not to you, and depends on household size, income and fuel type.
What do I need to bring?
Most recent home energy bill; Final Utility Termination Notice if you have one; proof of income (pay stubs, dividends or other proof of current gross income) for every household member; photo ID of the applicant; Social Security cards or numbers for all household members; proof of US citizenship or permanent residence.
Can they legally cut off my power in Florida right now?
No winter moratorium and no calendar shutoff protection in Florida. The protection that exists is 'medically essential' electric service under Florida Statute 366.15: with a form completed by a Florida-licensed physician the utility must certify the account, cannot ask for an extra deposit to keep or restore service, and must try to reach you by phone at least 24 hours before a scheduled shutoff for non-payment - and, failing that, send a representative to the house by 4 p.m. the day before. It must be recertified every 12 months, and it does not cancel the debt: you still have to make payment arrangements.
This comes from the Florida utility commission, not from the energy assistance programme — they are different offices and only one of them publishes it.
Worth knowing in Florida
The state page carries a draft FFY 2027 LIHEAP state plan, so the programme continues, but the income table on the page is not dated. Appeals and complaints go to the local provider's supervisor or Executive Director, not to the state.
One application, two bills
In most states the same office runs SNAP food benefits, and receiving one often makes the other automatic or faster. SNAP in Florida →
Read on floridajobs.org on Sep 10, 2026. Income limits are the ones Florida publishes itself: states choose between 150% of the federal poverty level and 60% of state median income, so copying from a neighbouring state gives the wrong answer. Last review Sep 10, 2026.
Checked by the PocketBoosters team against the official source. How we check this →
English