Help With Your Electric Bill in Alaska: Heating Assistance Program

Heating Assistance Program in Alaska is not open all year. Here are the dates, what it pays, and who to call today if your power is about to be cut off.

✓ Checked Sep 10, 2026Alaska Department of Health, Division of Public Assistance (DPA)Official page ↗
Applications
Sep – Oct
Pays
Not stated
Shut-off help
Yes, crisis track
How to apply
Online · Paper · In person

The season

  1. Opens Sepapply on day one — it is first come, first served
  2. Money runs outmost states stop before the closing date
  3. Closes Octthe published end of the season
If you have a shut-off notice, say so
Alaska runs a crisis track, and most states move those applications to the front of the queue. Details under “My power is about to be cut off in Alaska. What do I do today?” below.

When can I apply for help with my energy bill in Alaska?

A new application is available after September 1 each year. Heating Assistance applications are accepted October 1 through April 30, and grants start being issued the first working day in October. Last day to apply for non-crisis heating assistance is April 30. Crisis Assistance runs a wider window: September 1 through June 30. SRHUD deposits are accepted all year. For the 2026-2027 season the application is already open (Sept 1) and payments begin the first working day of October 2026.

Dates move every year and most states stop taking applications when the money runs out, not on the closing date. Checked Sep 10, 2026 — confirm before you count on it.

My power is about to be cut off in Alaska. What do I do today?

Crisis Assistance, applied for on the same form, accepted September 1 through June 30. Qualifying situations: out of primary heating fuel or within 48 hours of running out; primary heating fuel or electric service disconnected or within 48 hours of disconnection; or an eviction notice for non-payment of rent when heat is included in a non-subsidized rent. One-time payment made straight to the vendor. Call the DPA Virtual Contact Center at 800-478-7778.

How do I apply for Heating Assistance Program in Alaska?

One application covers Heating Assistance, Crisis Assistance and SRHUD. Online through the Alaska Connect portal (linked from health.alaska.gov/en/services/division-of-public-assistance-dpa-services/heating-assistance/), in person or by mail at a Public Assistance office, by fax to 888-269-6520, or by email to [email protected]. All required signatures must be on the form even when emailed.

Who qualifies in Alaska?

Monthly income limit for Heating Assistance Program in Alaska, by household size
Household sizeMonthly income limit
1$3,739
2$5,071
3$6,401
4$7,733
5$9,065
6$10,395

Two income tiers. LIHEAP: household income up to 150% of the federal poverty income guidelines. AAHP (state funded): above 150% and up to 225% of those guidelines. Household must also have at least $200 in out-of-pocket heating costs per year. 2026-2027 season maximum MONTHLY income: 1 person $3,739; 2 $5,071; 3 $6,401; 4 $7,733; 5 $9,065; 6 $10,395; add $1,331 per additional person.

How much does Heating Assistance Program pay?

One-time benefit per season, paid as a credit to the approved heating fuel or electric account. Amount not stated on the program page; a separate FY26 benefit computation document sets the calculation.

What do I need to bring?

Proof of income for the month before applying (pay stubs, employer work statement Form B, or a signed employer letter), vendor billing statements or disconnection notices, rental agreements. An application is only complete when every question is answered, it is signed, and the verification is received.

Worth knowing in Alaska

One benefit per season only, from one of the three options: Heating Assistance, Crisis Assistance or SRHUD. Households categorically eligible if they got other federally funded assistance in the month before applying. The AAHP tier is unusual: Alaska helps households well above the normal LIHEAP ceiling.

One application, two bills

In most states the same office runs SNAP food benefits, and receiving one often makes the other automatic or faster. SNAP in Alaska

Read on health.alaska.gov on Sep 10, 2026. Income limits are the ones Alaska publishes itself: states choose between 150% of the federal poverty level and 60% of state median income, so copying from a neighbouring state gives the wrong answer. Last review Sep 10, 2026.

Checked by the PocketBoosters team against the official source. How we check this →